About Me


Mechanical Engineering Department
Dokuz Eylul University
Tinaztepe Yerleskesi, Buca, Izmir, 35397, Turkey
E-mail: ozgur.colpan [at] deu.edu.tr

Biographical Sketch

Prof. Can Özgür Çolpan received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the Mechanical Engineering Department of the Middle East Technical University in 2003 and 2005, respectively. He conducted his PhD studies at the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering of Carleton University, in Ottawa, Canada between 2005 and 2009. He continued his studies as a post-doctoral researcher at the same department between 2009 and 2010 and at the Mechanical and Industrial Engineering Department of Ryerson University in Toronto, Canada between 2010 and 2012. He has been working at the Department of Mechanical Engineering of Dokuz Eylül University since 2012. In 2014 and 2019, he was appointed to the positions of Associate Professor and Professor, respectively.

Prof. Can Özgür Çolpan has conducted research in the field of fuel cells and hydrogen and the mathematical modeling of integrated energy systems. He has mainly carried out studies on the following topics: modeling of direct internal reforming solid oxide fuel cells, material development and mathematical modeling for direct methanol fuel cells, development of high temperature PEM fuel cells, simulation and optimization of the fuel cell vehicle powertrains, catalytic dehydrogenation of solid hydrogen storage materials, analysis of organic Rankine cycle based systems, analysis of biofuel fueled turbojet, mathematical modeling of membrane reactors, mathematical modeling of power-to-gas systems, and development of electrochemical hydrogen compressors. He has worked as conference chairman, technical chair and organizing committee member in many conferences. He serves as Board Member in the Turkish Hydrogen Technology Association. In 2019, he won the Turkish Academy of Sciences Outstanding Young Scientist Award (TUBA-GEBIP) and METU Professor Dr. Mustafa N. Parlar Education and Research Foundation’s Research Encouragement Award.